Sunday, 24 September 2017

TO ALL THE BOYS I'VE LOVED BEFORE BY JENNY HAN

 
Rating: 5 super gooey romantic sparkly stars

Synopsis:

What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about them… all at once?

Sixteen-year-old Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart and soul and says all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly, Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control. 

My Review:



Oh my gosssssssshhhhhhhhh. Where do I even begin to describe my love for this adorable mushy perfect little cupcake of a book? I am still reeling from all the feels I don’t even know how to put my feelings into a comprehensible sentence! This book was utterly fabulous and I couldn’t get enough of the fluffy romantic, cutesy adventurous mushy romantic ish in this beautiful book.
I tabbed this book 16 times, and I’ll proudly admit that I tabbed one page 3 times because that’s how ah-freaking-mazing this story is!
Be sure to note the following pictures to understand all the feels I went through:



Ok, ok I need to stop fangirling and actually get on with this review...

After constantly having recommendations for this book thrown at me left, right and center, I finally gave in and decided to read the first instalment of Lara Jean Song’s love letters.
And it completely exceeded my expectations, no wonder it’s being adapted into a film 
– and yes, I am F R E A K I N G    O U T  about that!



I read To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before in one day because it’s just one of those books that I couldn’t for the life of me put it down. It kept me hooked and I kept telling myself “one more chapter and then I’ll go buy food” ... yeah, I bought that food about 3 hours later. But that’s just how good Jenny Han’s writing is!!

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before was such a perfect book and one I’ll definitely be re-reading in the future. Jenny Han’s writing is beautiful, easy to read and follow the storyline, yet it’s still so wonderful and emotionally complex. The characters were cute, sweet and funny, and don’t even get me started on my new-found love for Peter *sigh*



Alright, let me give you a little run down on my thoughts of each of the characters because I have a lot of feels that need to be shared:

Margot: She was the only character that slightly annoyed me throughout the book, but she had her reasons for the choices she made. Although she wasn’t in the book as much as other characters, I loved how in the end everything came together and this helped to really flesh out why I had a few little problems with her.

Josh: Oh, sweet innocent Josh. He was a beautiful guy with a heart of gold but I could not for the world ship him with Lara Jean. Yes, he was uber cute at times but then he would hit a swing and be hella cold shoulder towards Lara Jean. But he was a great addition to the storyline and Lara Jean’s life.

Peter: Drop dead beautiful boy with a bad side, I loved him so freaking much! The ever popular ‘bad boy’ of the school but he wasn’t who they painted him to be. He was nothing like that, he was sweet, considerate and a real charmer. If I could, I would read about him all day – P.S. Jenny if you’re reading this, please write a novella about Peter!

The Dad: He was super sweet and all I wanted to do was hug him. He had so much love for his daughters and trying to tackle the role of being both a dad/mum – major respect. One of my favourite scenes is the cooking scene where the food is super salty, it was absolutely hilarious and so relatable! The family dynamic was written beautifully and such a massive part of the story.

Kitty: Adorable cinnamon bun Kitty, I love her so so much! By far one of my favourite characters in the whole story. I did think she acted a little old for her age at times, but to be fair that’s just her. I adored her relationship with her family, Josh and eventually Peter. It was beautiful to watch.

I loved the multi-racial aspect of To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before is so refreshing as it’s not often seen in many stories. But I loved seeing the cultural features throughout the book.

Another part within Jenny’s book was her inclusion of Harry Potter references! Like yasss Jenny! You absolute queen! Thank you for adding this to the story, it made for one of the utmost cutest scenes ever! And let’s not forget to mention the Peter Parker costume. This book is A M A Z I N G, that’s all I’ll say.

The ending was brilliant, how the wall built between Lara Jean and Margot was broken down, not only for them but for me too. All the tension I had towards Margot dissipated and I really understood her decisions.


Aaand of course, in all author fashion, Jenny leaves us on a cliff-hanger to then continue on with the second and third instalments in Lara Jean’s love stories!


I urge every single one of you to read this book! It was super sweet, hilarious and truly heart-warming. Go pick up To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before from your local bookstore, library or wherever you get your reading fix! It’s shot straight to my favourites list as I’m sure it will for you too!


Think Lovely Thoughts xo

Sunday, 10 September 2017

THE COLOR PROJECT BY SIERRA ABRAMS

Rating: 5 million sprinkle stars

Goodreads Book Description:
Bernice Aurora Wescott has one thing she doesn't want anyone to know: her name. That is, until Bee meets Levi, the local golden boy who runs a charity organization called The Color Project.

Levi is not at all shy about attempting to guess Bee’s real name; his persistence is one of the many reasons why Bee falls for him. But while Levi is everything she never knew she needed, giving up her name would feel like a stamp on forever. And that terrifies her.

When unexpected news of an illness in the family drains Bee's summer of everything bright, she is pushed to the breaking point. Losing herself in The Color Project—a world of weddings, funerals, cancer patients, and hopeful families that the charity funds—is no longer enough. Bee must hold up the weight of her family, but to do that, she needs Levi. She’ll have to give up her name and let him in completely or lose the best thing that’s ever happened to her.

For fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson, THE COLOR PROJECT is a story about the three great loves of life—family, friendship, and romance—and the bonds that withstand tragedy.

My Review:
I’ve re-written this review more times than you can ever imagine because I’ve wanted to include as much as possible without spoiling this one-in-a-million beautiful creation.


Sierra had been talking to me about this wonderful book since I met her in early 2017 and I had been DYING to read this masterpiece, craving more information and willing to give up anything to get my hands on it. Then when I finally read it…




It was GLORIOUS!!! Never have I read a book that made me feel so many things at once and made me fall in love with every character in some way, shape or form. The Color Project blew any expectations I had out of the window, it was so gosh darn cute! All I wanted to do was gather this precious book in my arms, roll it up like a burrito and never let go. In saying that, Sierra also has a way of making you want to cuddle it like a bundle of joy but then rip your heart out because you were not expecting the agony of what was to come next. Needless to say, a lot of emotions are felt when reading this book. A LOT OF EMOTIONS.

Whilst being a beautiful romance, The Color Project deals with serious issues such as relationship struggles, grief and what the future beholds. It’s an authentic story with very relatable characters and little nuances that make your heart flutter.
Oh, the characters in this book are some of the most wonderful characters you will ever meet. Let’s start with Bee, sweet Bernice Aurora Wescott, what a darling young lady. She is one of the most relatable narrators, she’s got flaws, her awkwardness is honestly cringey and adorable at the same time. But it’s her flaws that shine through in a way that makes you love her more than you thought you could. I’ll admit there were times when I just wanted to scream at her and give her a good shake back to reality, but I understood where she was coming from in terms of her actions and the fears that provoked those actions. That’s what made her real, what made her so relatable and I utterly respect Sierra for creating a character like Bee.

Levi
Levi
My sweet, precious, baby boy Levi. Oh, how I adore your sparkly little bean self. As the synopsis tells, he is the CEO of The Color Project. A charity. This nineteen year-old cinnamon roll RUNS A CHARITY. Like can we take a moment to appreciate how he has done that and the amount of lives he’s changed. Levi is the epitome of someone with a heart of gold and I utterly loved him. He isn’t just this perfect notoriously good pretty-boy love interest, he has a backstory and family and most important of all, emotion.



And although I absolutely loved Bee and Levi and their adorable romance. Nothing beats my favourite character in The Color Project, Bee’s best friend, Gretchen. The two may live far away from each other but nothing stops the powerhouse duo of Bee and Gretchen. She’s sassy, feisty, stylish and honestly one of the best friends a girl could ever wish for.
I also adored Bee’s family, they were the centre of her world and nothing made me happier than to see her family through Bee’s eyes. Yes, sometimes it squeezed my heart but it was still so touching to see how they all worked through the hard times and came together to support each other as much as possible. They reminded me of the Weasley’s in the sense that all I wanted to do was be a part of that family and yet, Sierra makes the reader feel like a part of Bee’s family.

Finally, let’s talk about the title of this book, The Color Project. The name of Levi’s project, his master project where he spent the majority of his time after work. I don’t think I could have loved TCP more than I did because of what it stood for and the idea of it was honestly BRILLIANT. A charity that is constantly helping in any way they can, going to any length to make people smile and show their true colours.


I couldn’t be more honoured to have read this book, thank you to the beautiful Sierra for letting me read an early copy in exchange for a review. This book means the world to me and will forever be held high on my pedestal as one of the best books I’ve ever read.

Sierra also popped in to tell us about the idea behind The Color Project, check that out here


Think Lovely Thoughts and keep on shining those true colours xo

Popular Posts