Sunday, 10 September 2017

THE COLOR PROJECT BY SIERRA ABRAMS

Rating: 5 million sprinkle stars

Goodreads Book Description:
Bernice Aurora Wescott has one thing she doesn't want anyone to know: her name. That is, until Bee meets Levi, the local golden boy who runs a charity organization called The Color Project.

Levi is not at all shy about attempting to guess Bee’s real name; his persistence is one of the many reasons why Bee falls for him. But while Levi is everything she never knew she needed, giving up her name would feel like a stamp on forever. And that terrifies her.

When unexpected news of an illness in the family drains Bee's summer of everything bright, she is pushed to the breaking point. Losing herself in The Color Project—a world of weddings, funerals, cancer patients, and hopeful families that the charity funds—is no longer enough. Bee must hold up the weight of her family, but to do that, she needs Levi. She’ll have to give up her name and let him in completely or lose the best thing that’s ever happened to her.

For fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson, THE COLOR PROJECT is a story about the three great loves of life—family, friendship, and romance—and the bonds that withstand tragedy.

My Review:
I’ve re-written this review more times than you can ever imagine because I’ve wanted to include as much as possible without spoiling this one-in-a-million beautiful creation.


Sierra had been talking to me about this wonderful book since I met her in early 2017 and I had been DYING to read this masterpiece, craving more information and willing to give up anything to get my hands on it. Then when I finally read it…




It was GLORIOUS!!! Never have I read a book that made me feel so many things at once and made me fall in love with every character in some way, shape or form. The Color Project blew any expectations I had out of the window, it was so gosh darn cute! All I wanted to do was gather this precious book in my arms, roll it up like a burrito and never let go. In saying that, Sierra also has a way of making you want to cuddle it like a bundle of joy but then rip your heart out because you were not expecting the agony of what was to come next. Needless to say, a lot of emotions are felt when reading this book. A LOT OF EMOTIONS.

Whilst being a beautiful romance, The Color Project deals with serious issues such as relationship struggles, grief and what the future beholds. It’s an authentic story with very relatable characters and little nuances that make your heart flutter.
Oh, the characters in this book are some of the most wonderful characters you will ever meet. Let’s start with Bee, sweet Bernice Aurora Wescott, what a darling young lady. She is one of the most relatable narrators, she’s got flaws, her awkwardness is honestly cringey and adorable at the same time. But it’s her flaws that shine through in a way that makes you love her more than you thought you could. I’ll admit there were times when I just wanted to scream at her and give her a good shake back to reality, but I understood where she was coming from in terms of her actions and the fears that provoked those actions. That’s what made her real, what made her so relatable and I utterly respect Sierra for creating a character like Bee.

Levi
Levi
My sweet, precious, baby boy Levi. Oh, how I adore your sparkly little bean self. As the synopsis tells, he is the CEO of The Color Project. A charity. This nineteen year-old cinnamon roll RUNS A CHARITY. Like can we take a moment to appreciate how he has done that and the amount of lives he’s changed. Levi is the epitome of someone with a heart of gold and I utterly loved him. He isn’t just this perfect notoriously good pretty-boy love interest, he has a backstory and family and most important of all, emotion.



And although I absolutely loved Bee and Levi and their adorable romance. Nothing beats my favourite character in The Color Project, Bee’s best friend, Gretchen. The two may live far away from each other but nothing stops the powerhouse duo of Bee and Gretchen. She’s sassy, feisty, stylish and honestly one of the best friends a girl could ever wish for.
I also adored Bee’s family, they were the centre of her world and nothing made me happier than to see her family through Bee’s eyes. Yes, sometimes it squeezed my heart but it was still so touching to see how they all worked through the hard times and came together to support each other as much as possible. They reminded me of the Weasley’s in the sense that all I wanted to do was be a part of that family and yet, Sierra makes the reader feel like a part of Bee’s family.

Finally, let’s talk about the title of this book, The Color Project. The name of Levi’s project, his master project where he spent the majority of his time after work. I don’t think I could have loved TCP more than I did because of what it stood for and the idea of it was honestly BRILLIANT. A charity that is constantly helping in any way they can, going to any length to make people smile and show their true colours.


I couldn’t be more honoured to have read this book, thank you to the beautiful Sierra for letting me read an early copy in exchange for a review. This book means the world to me and will forever be held high on my pedestal as one of the best books I’ve ever read.

Sierra also popped in to tell us about the idea behind The Color Project, check that out here


Think Lovely Thoughts and keep on shining those true colours xo

Tuesday, 15 August 2017

5 FEEL-GOOD SHOWS TO BINGE-WATCH

Trying to procrastinate? Stressing out and need a break? Or just wanting to kick back and relax with a new show? There’s nothing better than tuning into a “feel-good” show to make you smile, laugh and escape from the daily grind for a while.
Here are five of my favourite shows that you can binge on Netflix when you’re in need of some warm fuzzies:

CHESAPEAKE SHORES

Summoned back to the coastal Maryland town she left long ago, successful businesswoman and single mother Abby begins to see her busy life in a new light.

I have no shame when I admit that I binge-watched Chesapeake Shores’ first season in about 8 hours one weekend and it’s sooo worth it! I stumbled across the show on Netflix after seeing that Meghan Ory, who portrays Abby, stars in it and I knew I couldn’t resist the temptation to watch it. It’s not hard to fall in love with the characters and beautiful coastal town of Chesapeake Shores. If I could live there, I definitely would! I really love the family aspect of the show, it’s relatable and easy to love all the characters and their individual adventures.

GIRLBOSS

Things are looking dire when 20-something Sophia loses her job and gets an eviction notice – until a thrift store find gives her an idea.

I absolutely adored this show, it’s snarky, funny and full of fun! Sophia’s character is honestly amazing and constantly had me doubling over in fits of laughter. From the storyline and Sophia’s fashion sense to her best friend, Annie’s fun-loving attitude and their wild adventures together. Girlboss is truly a “feel-good” show and one sure to make you smile, if you haven’t watched the show, I highly recommend you do (it’s only one season of 10 episodes) and I promise you’ll love it.

THE GOOD WITCH

When recently divorced doctor Sam and his teenage son Nick move in next door to Grey House, Cassie and Grace hasten to make them feel welcome.

I admit, I only started watching this show this year because everyone was going crazy about it. So, of course I binge-watched the entire first and second season within a few days and I had instantly fallen completely and utterly head-over-heels in love with The Good Witch. This show has grown to be one of my top 3 favourite shows of all time and my best friend and I often spend endless nights re-watching the current 3 seasons.
It’s honestly one of the best “feel-good” shows that is constantly leaving you with warm fuzzies. Though it is best that you watch The Good Witch movies (also on Netflix) before the show so you can get a grasp on the background of Cassie’s life and the town of Middleton. After one or two episodes, you’ll feel completely at home at Grey House and not be able to wipe the smile off your face.

P.S. The cast of Good Witch are currently filming season 4, so be sure to catch up on the last 3 seasons in time for the release of season 4!

GILMORE GIRLS

When Rory is accepted into a prestigious prep school, Lorelai must swallow her pride and ask her wealthy parents for help paying the tuition.

The Holy Grail. My all-time favourite show. The reason I live and breathe is the fun-loving, witty and hilarious Gilmore Girls, following the mother-daughter duo, Lorelai and Rory. My mother introduced me to Gilmore Girls when I was 6 years old and I don’t know where I’d be if I hadn’t grown up with the Gilmore Girls. It’s truly a wholesome show, it’s impossible not to fall in love with the beautiful Stars Hollow and its wonderful citizens.

HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER

In 2030, Ted tells his children the story of how he met their mother, beginning back in 2005 with Marshall and Lily’s engagement.

I’ve watched How I Met Your Mother since I was about 8 years old and I’ve loved re-watching it. It’s a great show that has a diverse range of characters, story-arcs and narration; it’s funny and everyone can relate to it in one way or another. In today’s sitcoms, it’s rare to see “real life” situations and How I Met Your Mother presents realistic storylines that allow viewers to relate to one or two instances shown.
The group of characters are absolutely amazing and work so well together, the chemistry is real and I honestly haven’t met a single soul who doesn’t like Barney. You feel like a part of their friendship group and are joining them on their adventures through the past to the present.


Be sure to check out these awesome “feel-good” shows and let me know your thoughts! What’s your favourite TV show that gives you warm fuzzies? Tweet me @bookishbroadway


Think Lovely Thoughts xo

Wednesday, 9 August 2017

COVER REVEAL: THE WITCH'S BLOOD BY KATHARINE AND ELIZABETH CORR

IT’S HERE!!!
The day has finally arrived. And I’ve been waiting for this for what feels like forever and ever and ever!



Some fairy tales are darker than others…
Be careful what you wish for…
Some rules are meant to be broken…

A magical tale of witches, age-old curses and forbidden love. Katherine and Elizabeth Corr are absolutely wonderful at creating beautiful characters with adventurous storylines.

The Witch’s Kiss and the sequel The Witch’s Tears are two books that have always kept me excited all the way to the end of the book, a huge build up then BAM! A cliffhanger hits. And it hits hard! The Corr sisters both know this with how much I message them after reading each of their books.

I am pleased to announce that the cover for the third book in The Witch’s Kiss series has officially been revealed and I can hardly contain my excitement!


Presenting Katharine and Elizabeth's new magical tale:
The Witch’s Blood



Buy The Witch’s Kiss:

Buy The Witch’s Tears:


Think Lovely Thoughts xo

Popular Posts